Why I love Shakeology (and why I didn’t at first)

To be completely honest, I have to admit that I haven’t always been a fan of Shakeology.

Shocker, I know.

Why I love Shakeology and didn't at first

Like a lot us, I balked at the price initially. I mean $120 a month was nearly half our food budget! I could get a lot of meals out of $120 (even more if I used coupons) and I just couldn’t justify spending that much on myself. Yet, I knew that my body was craving something better than pancakes and eggs. So I tried making smoothies for myself, and I did a pretty good job, if I do say so. Still, those ingredients added up and I was still missing out on key vitamins and nutrients. Sure, I could have taken a multivitamin, but if I couldn’t remember to take my prenatal pill while pregnant, what would make me start remember to take a multivitamin each day?

When I finally made the choice to get fit, I chose the PiYo Challenge Pack that came with a month’s supply of the Chocolate/Vanilla/Strawberry Shakeology. And I was surprised to find that I liked it a lot more than I thought I would. Of course, since they cut down on sugars and use natural and alternative sweeteners, it does have a different taste initially than real sugar. And man, I love real sugar. But guess what? Loads of sugar isn’t good for me or my goal of getting fit. Who knew? So my compromise is a tiny drizzle of honey to offset the taste and I’m good-to-go.

Flavor-wise, I wasn’t as big of a fan of the Strawberry, though some of my team members live and die by a strawberry & fresh berry shake like that pictured above (and I have to admit that it does look good). The vanilla I liked, especially when doing some of the flavor combinations, like cheesecake and pumpkin pie.

But the love of MY life was, of course, the chocolate. In fact, I believe it’s the highest selling Shakeology flavor. After all, who doesn’t like chocolate? My favorite flavor combo, which seems to be the most popular recipe, too, is Chocolate + Peanut Butter + Banana (click for full recipe). Mmmm… just like a frosty.

And now to the price- which is what I originally balked at. At $120 a month ($20+ discount for coaches!!!), it seems really high at first, but when I broke it down, it was really doable. You see, these aren’t supposed to be in addition to all your meals, but in place of a meal. Thus, the meal replacement shake or “the healthiest meal of the day” as they call it. For me, I do the shakes for breakfast, so let’s break down my typical healthy breakfast:

Zucchini – $1.49/lb (0.5 lb) – 75 cents
Eggs – $1.99/dozen (used two) – 33 cents
Cheese – $2.50/8 cups (used 1/3 cup) – 10 cents
Turkey Bacon – $2.99/package (used 3 strips) – 39 cents
Mushrooms – $3.49/lb (used 3 mushrooms) – 50 cents
Onions – $0.99/lb (used 1/4 cup) – 12 cents
Spinach -$2.99/package (used 1 cup) – 37 cents
Whole Grain Toast – $2.50/loaf (used 1 slice) – 20 cents
Orange – $1.25/lb (used 1 orange) – 26 cents

Total: $3.02

So we’re already over three dollars and that doesn’t even add in the morning coffee. Not to mention, while healthy, there’s only a handful of the necessary daily nutrients covered in that breakfast. Our bodies need those nutrients in order to be healthy, to stay mentally focused, and to maintain the metabolism jump-started by exercise. Sure, we could make a green smoothie and pop a multivitamin, and that would definitely be better than the Country Boy breakfast at Cracker Barrel, but how nice it would be to get everyone at once, for the less than the cost of a Starbucks Frappuccino and 1/2 the price of a smoothie at one of those fancy juice bars.

14751342084_83ccce2e70_o

And with flavors like chocolate, vanilla, strawberry, greenberry, vegan chocolate, vegan tropical strawberry, and the newly-released café latte, I love that I can get my nutrition and decadence together in one glass. Oh, and as a busy mom that 1/2 the time forgets to even eat breakfast, it’s nice to be able to whip something up in less than two minutes. Stick that blender in the dishwasher and head out the door, perpetually five minutes late to everywhere and everything.

title image credit: Shakeology blog

Leave a Reply

